Hiram E. Leonard Diary, March 13 – 19, 1867

13th Wednesday  A cold morning thurmometer at 10 degrees below zero in morning  A cold day  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard sick & lonely—Sister was nirvas & lightheaded.

14th Thursday  rather a cold day for March  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely.

15th Friday  cool weather for March  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ and went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & about sick with a cold.

16th Saturday  cool & spit snow a little cleared off at night cold  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ and went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & about sick & lonely.

17th Sunday  A cold windy  morning & day with a flurry of snow on the ground cold tonight  I did my choars & choared round the house all day called at Scovills & Willsons in the morning went to the office in evening & made up the mail came home & called to Willsons came home & went to bed at about 9.

18th Monday  rather a fine cool March day  I did my choars was at the office the most of the day came home  about 8 ½ & went to bed at 10 nearly sick Sally Munk came in afternoon.

19th Tuesday  rather fine cold March weather  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 10 tiard & sick, lonely & about discouraged  Sally Munk was here all day & went to Donation in evening [in margin] Donation at Methodist Church.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2017/03/13/hiram-e-leonard-diary-march-13-19-1867/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What did he do at the office? As their a reason he was always tired and sick?

  2. Do we have a picture of Hiram’s sister? Curious, a very dedicated brother.

    • We do not have a picture of his sister sadly. We do have letters that he wrote back to his brother on the east coast that talk a lot about his sister and her mental health struggles.

  3. Thank you for your answer. I enjoy and look forward to reading Hiram diary.


Leave a Reply

