Hiram E. Leonard Diary, May 23 – 29, 1866

23rd Wednesday  rather fine weather but dry & backward  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick, Wallace Jones bought the goods in Negles store & invoised them today all, A Frost [in margin] W W Jones bought Negles good in the store A Frost this morning.

24th Thursday  cold dry backward weather  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick  W. W. Jones & Negle went to Chicago, Jones went after goods  A frost pretty hard.

25th Friday  cool dry backward weather  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick [in margin] Willson carrying off his oats.

26th Saturday  rather a cool cloudy damp day, showered a little & thundered grew cool towards night & rained a little fine drops was a wet night  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening, came home about 9 & went to bed between 9 & 10 tiard lonely & nearly sick  H Brown died this morning between 7 & 8  Frank and Hoyt Brown went to Chicago after clothes & met Sarah Brown at station  She came in the stage about 11  John Goland shot himself at Williams but did not kill him, the ball did not enter his skull but entered the flesh in the back of his neck he was crazy & Williams carried him up to Dyres it took 3 men his wife was at work at Williamses.

27th Sunday  A cool damp day & rained conciderable in & some in evening I did my choars went to the office was round home the rest of the day choared a little took a nap wrote some etc did my choars at night & went to bed about 9 nearly a sick & lonely  Hilliard Brown’s funeral was attended at the Methodist Church about 2 oclock servises by the Methodist Minister a Mr Brown [in margin] Hilliard Brown was buried this afternoon.

28th Monday rather fine weather but cool backward weather I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ lonely & tiard.

29th Tuesday  rather cold frosty weather a frost this morning  I did my choars was at the office all day came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ sick & lonely.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/hiram-e-leonard-diary-may-23-29-1866/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

