Hiram E. Leonard Diary, March 28 – April 3, 1866

28th Wednesday rather a cold raw disagreeable day I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ sick & lonely sunset cloudy.

29th Thursday A fine pleasant day with a cool air I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & about sick & lonely as death [in margin] sunset clear.

30th Friday A cold raw cloudy disagreeable day & night I did my chaors was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick B C Williams & wife came from Chicago & stoped at F Pollard Wm Wright & wife were at Watermans, Wright came the first I saw him since they were married [in margin] Sunset in a cloud.

31st Saturday A fine pleasant day cloudy at night the snow run finely I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ about sick & homesick froze but little tonight.

April 1st Sunday A fine pleasant warm day & evening sun shone warm but rather a cool air I did my choars was round the house all day except going to the office toward night I was about sick I had the rheumatism or crick through my hips & back so that I could hardly do my choars & had to sit in the house a most all day fixed the mail at office in evening came back & went to bed at about 9 nearly sick & home sick had the rheumatism [in margin] Mrs Lela Potter stayed all night.

2nd Monday Mathers ded tonight rather a fine day but cool & verry muddy I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick.

3rd Tuesday rather a fine day but some cloudy & verry muddy bad going I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & about sick Town meeting today A C Graves elected Supervisor Jonathan Pollard who was beaten Germane & a Mr Ketshum justices of the Peace.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2016/03/28/hiram-e-leonard-diary-march-28-april-3-1866/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

