Hiram E. Leonard Diary, December 7 – 13, 1865

7th Thursday Thanksgiving day rather fine weather for winter I did my choars was at the store all day & evening came home at 8 and went to bed at 9 tiard lonely as death & nearly sick Rolen Willson & Caroline came here about noon & stayed all night, but it was as lonely as ever, did not seem like home as usual [in margin] R Willson & Caroline came down to Thanksgiving.

8th Friday rather a fine day but cool & some cloudy I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely as death & sick of life R Willson & Caroline stayed here all night.

9th Saturday it snowed some in forenoon cleared off & was quite pleasant in afternoon & evening, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely homesick as death & sick Rolen came in evening & took Caroline up to Shermans & stayed, it was as lonely.

10th Sunday a fine pleasant day, not cold but cloudy towards night & in evening I did my choars went to the office twice, was at home the rest of the day a choaring & banking up my house etc, went to bed between 8 & 9 tiard & sick it has been a lonely day & night, lonely is no name for it, Rolen & Caroline went to George Barrases to get her money & then went to Henry Goulds & stayed all night.

11th Monday rather a fine day I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ and went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick felt like death Rolen Willson was down to the store in evening & one of the Mitten men went home with Hadly.

12th Tuesday A cold windy day & a cold night grew cold all day & evening came home about 8 tiard, lonely as death & nearly sick.

13th Wednesday a verry cold day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ lonely.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/12/07/hiram-e-leonard-diary-december-7-13-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

