Hiram E. Leonard Diary, November 9 – 15, 1865

9th Thursday A most beautiful day I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 & went to bed at 9 tiard lonely & sick.

10th Friday A fine day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home 8 & went to bed at 9 tiard & lonely.

11th Saturday A most beautiful day I did my choars was at the office a part of the day & at the house a part of the day a seeing to the thrashing, Willson & Wilcox came about 9 & kep me pretty busy, they got done about 4 ½ we had 313 bushels, I came home at 8 & went to bed tiard, sick & lonely as death [in margin] Willson & Wilcox thrashed oats.

12th Sunday A most beautiful day & evening & warm day cool evening I did my choars went to office & back each breckfust, Connel came & helped me to pout my straw stacks & fence my stacks etc He went home & I fixed my corn crib etc I went to office & Sim Billings in evening came back, wrot some & went to bed about 9 or a little before tiard sick & lonely as death & dishartened [in margin] I dremp of seeing Wm J Wray come into the store tonight & talked with him.

13th Monday A fine pleasant day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed at 9 tiard & nearly sick & as lonely as death Temperance Butler died this morning about 4 oclock in the morning very sudden, was taken with the pleurasy last Tuesday.

14th Tuesday fine weather for the season I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 & went to bed at 9 tiard & lonely.

15th Wednesday A fine day I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening come home at 8 and went to bed at 9 tiard lonely & sick they brought Temperance Butlers boddy up here to have the funeral.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/11/09/hiram-e-leonard-diary-november-9-15-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

