Hiram E. Leonard Diary, October 26 – November 1, 1865

26th Thursday A cloudy disagreeable day & night I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home 8 ½ went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely as death.

27th Friday A cloudy misty disagreeable day & snowed several inches during the night I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick dishartened and about discouraged.

28th Saturday Several inches of snow on the ground & a snowing looks conciderable like winter brooke away in forenoon a cold night & froze quite hard, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed about 9 tiard lonely & sick.

29th Sunday A cold but more pleasant morning and day but froze quite hard last night I did my choars eat breckfust went to the office & back choared round the house picked some apples etc took my cold off to wean etc, a good deal like winter I went to bed about 8 ½ nearly sick dishartened & a lonely as one can be & about discouraged [in margin] a cold winterlike day.

30th Monday A cold cloudy disagreeable day I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 & went to bed about 9 lonely & sick [in margin] Bostwick moved to Wheaton.

31st Tuesday A cold cloudy disagreeable day & night seemed like winter I did my choars was at office all day & evening & came home 8 bed 9.

November 1st Wednesday a cool cloudy disagreeable day I did my choars was at the office all day came home at 8 & went to bed at 9 lonely Wm McNelly started for Iowa.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/10/26/hiram-e-leonard-diary-october-26-november-1-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

