Hiram E. Leonard Diary, September 28 – October 4, 1865

28th Thursday  rather a warm cloudy day & evening showered a little, a cloudy evening & rained some during the night  I did my choars was at the office the most of the day & evening went to the house 3 times in the forenoon as Roll was a coming after Caroline he did not come till near 2 oclock  I had some talk with him but of no account, came to the store & went back & took Caroline Wray with him up to Sherman Willsons & then they went to Naperville & got married by Judge Cody about 5 or six oclock in afternoon & stayed to Sherman Willsons over night.

29th Friday  A cloudy damp showerey morning & cloudy disagreeable day & evening  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed about 9 tiard & nearly sick & as lonely as death & Rolen Willson & Caroline went to McNellys & got her things & went to Wiliams & Barrases etc did not get back until evening to Shermans.

30th Saturday  A pretty fine day & evening, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & sick & lonely  Rollen Willson & Caroline came to my house before daylight & got her things & went to Shermans & started about 7 for Coral.

October 1st Sunday  A fine cool pleasant morning & day & most beautiful evening  I did my choars & started for H Goulds about 9 with Bliss horse & buggy, found Wm McNelly & wife was there, we had a first rate time got a keg of beer, William started home at about 4 and I started a little before 5 & got home at about 6 did my choars & went to bed about 8 in evening lonely & dishartened & discourage  William McNelly bought a span of mairs of Adam Keller.

2nd Monday  rather a fine day & evening  I did my choars was at the store all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick, lonely & dishartened.

3rd Tuesday  rather fine weather for Oct  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & sick, lonesome as death.

4th Wednesday  rather fine weather  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ lonesome & sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/hiram-e-leonard-diary-september-28-october-4-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

