Hiram E. Leonard Diary, August 24 – 30, 1865

24th Thursday A fine pleasant day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.

25th Friday rather a fine warm day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening I came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & about sick Caroline & Roxa went to McNellys & Caroline brought her things down & got here about 6 olcok at night they had Sam McNellys team to go with.

26th Saturday A fine pleasant day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 9 & went to bed about ½ past 9 nearly sick & lonely A Mr Carpenter & family came & held a consert here [in margin] R here Caroline went to Willsons & stayed at the Baptist meeting house this evening, he left me some tickets to sell & gave me 2 frees Mrs Emma Willson was here & I gave my 2 tickets to Caroline & Mrs Willson, they went to the consert Sherman went home & Rollen came down & went to the consert Caroline went home with them & stayed all night.

27th Sunday A fine hot forenoon & some cloudy & windy in the afternoon & looked like rain I did my choars was at home the most of the day a choaring & fixing my paster fence & to the office for Carpenter that had the consert, Rollen brought Caroline Wray home about 9 ½ or 10 oclock I was about sick as well as Caroline I went to bed about 9 tiard & sick It rained during the night.

28th Monday rather a damp cloudy more pleasant in afternoon I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 tiard lonely & nearly sick John McNelly & his cousin John Sinly came over & brought Caroline’s cow & calf got here before noon & went back in afternoon.

29th Tuesday rather fine hot weather pretty good hay weather I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ went to bed 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick & lonely.

30th Wednesday fine hot hay weather I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & about sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/08/24/hiram-e-leonard-diary-august-24-30-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

