Hiram E. Leonard Diary, August 3 – 9, 1865

3rd Thursday rather fine weather but some cloudy I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick etc rained at night.

4th Friday A damp showery disagreeable day & night, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & about sick.

5th Saturday A cloudy damp showerey day & night rained hard, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed 9 tiard lonely & sick [in margin] 2 soldiers with 10 horses stayed at John Waddles all night.

6th Sunday A cloudy damp disagreeable day & evening I did my choars went to office about 9 came back & choared round the house cleaned out the celler etc was round the house the most of the day went to bed about 9 sick Rollen Willson went to Wm McNellys & brought Caroline Wray to Sherman Willsons & stayed all night.

7th Monday rather a fine day & they hayed it some I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 about sick Caroline came back from Willsons.

8th Tuesday rather a fine day but cloudy & rained during the night I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick [in margin] Col Warren went & notified the Supervisors.

9th Wednesday A cloudy rainey day, by showers it came down in torrents, one shower between 12 at noon & in afternoon it rained tremendious hard for about 2 hours it came down in torrents washed Connels potatoes & cabbage down dam to me burst my store celler windows in & filled my store celler ¾ full or more while I was up to dinner everything was fludded the river set up to N. Derry shop, it was the hardest shower I ever saw & the most rain fell in one shower, we had but little wind here, but it blew building down in many places an awful shower I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick [in margin] a tremendis heavey shower all round the country.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/08/03/hiram-e-leonard-diary-august-3-9-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

