Hiram E. Leonard Diary, June 8 – 14, 1865

8th Thursday A fine day but hot & verry dry I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick.

9th Friday A cloudy morning & a heavy shower about 8 with several heavey showers during the day one between 5 & 6 ½ a great deal of rain fell a Big Woods & injured their crops verry much in places, I did my choars was at the office all day came home 8 ½ went to bed 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely Eli Root & family F Pollards brother in law from Vermont came tonight his wife was paralyzed on one sided, sent for Danne Camp meeting near St Charles.

10th Saturday A fine cool day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 10 tiard lonely & nearly sick, Dr. Waterman Allen Wright & Fairbanks came home to stay over Sunday & go back next week to Chicago to be mustered out big meeting commenced at Lahmans.

11th Sunday A fine pleasant growing day I did my choars was at the home all day went to office towards night came back & went to bed about 9 tiard lonely & about sick there was a great meeting at Lahmans Sister went both days Redfield had a camp meeting near St Charles many went.

12th Monday rather fine hot weather ground wet & crops grow I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard sick & lonely.

13th Tuesday fine weather with showers things grow I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & sick & lonely.

14th Wednesday fine hot growing weather I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard sick, lonely, Kate Chandler had a son born today, Richard Chandlers wife.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/06/08/hiram-e-leonard-diary-june-8-14-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment