Hiram E. Leonard Diary, May 25 – 31, 1865

25th Thursday A fine day but cool & dry I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick & homesick.

26th Friday rather a cold dry day & night most a frost this morning I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & about sick & homesick Luman V Russequie got home from Nashville was discharged & paid off from the hospital, got home at noon, and Simeon Billings got home about 6 oclock in afternoon was discharged at the hospital at New York & paid off.

27th Saturday A cold pleasant morning with all but a frost I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 9 & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely homesick & nearly sick [in margin] T C Butler & Jane Hendrickson got to Bliss.

28th Sunday A warm cloudy morning with a light shower about 7 a warm day & dry I did my choars eat breckfust went to office & back choared round the house some called at Simeon Billings put my mair out of Col Warrens lot into my paster was round home all day about sick went to bed about 9 tiard lonely & sick with a pain in my right brest & hip, Sister went to meeting.

29th Monday Dry hot weather crops suffering bad, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick lonely etc T. C Butler, Jane Hendrickson came to Blisses.

30th Tuesday Fine hot dry weather I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick Alvince Penny & a Miss Webber were married at Cresaline today & started for Chicago to come to Green & got to his fathers.

31st Wednesday A fine hot dry day I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went at 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick David McNelly was here with his horse.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/05/25/hiram-e-leonard-diary-may-25-31-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

