Hiram E. Leonard Diary, May 4 – 10, 1865

4th Thursday A fine pleasant warm day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick, Caroline Wray mooved home to her fathers They came after her with 3 teams, left Willsons place Russequie got home from ____________ & Billings.

5th Friday rather a cool cloudy damp day I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick [in margin] old Mrs Billings went up to Hunty to see Bet Russequie & Billings got home from grafting.

6th Saturday A cloudy damp foggy morning but more pleasant in afternoon & beautiful in evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ called at B.C. Williams he had got home from Nashville went to bed about 10 ½ nearly sick Malissa Billings went to the good Templers Lodge & got home 11 ½ Sebe French got home from grafting [in margin] Betsy Billings came home with her mother to stay a while Wm Butler took hold of his wife in the street.

7th Sunday A fine pleasant day but windy I did my choars was at the house all day except going to office in morning & evening choared round some turned my cow out of this lot into the paster etc went to the office in evening made up the mail came back & went to bed about nearly sick, it is a lonesome homesick day Malissa Billings went home a visating.

8th Monday rather fine cool weather I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick [in margin] Wm Butler took hold of his wife on the sidewalk in Chicago & tryed to take her off.

9th Tuesday A cold day & the ground quite dry I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick & lonely.

10th Wednesday rather a cold dry day I did my morning choars went into upper field & see my colt mair folded last night or this morning was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick cold night.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/hiram-e-leonard-diary-may-4-10-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

