Hiram E. Leonard Diary, April 27 – May 3, 1865

27th Thursday Some squalls of rain I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & about sick.

28th Friday rather cloudy & some misty I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick & homesick.

29th Saturday rather a fine but cool & mist a little in the evening I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 9 & went to bed about 10 tiard lonely and about sick felt low spirited I received a letter from George Potter requesting me to send him some Jerry Pollard potato [in margin] Jerry Roberts sawed wood.

30th Sunday A misty damp showery day & evening I did my choars went to the office twice & in evening to make up the mail was round the most of the day a choaring round grafted some etc came home from office at 8 & went to bed lonely & sick, H. Gould & family went to Cal Wrays and he called when he went back for me to go to store & get tobacco about 2 oclock.

May 1st Monday rather a fine day for may for cool I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick President Abraham Lincoln corpse arrived in Chicago & was seen this afternoon & tomorrow Col J. M. Warren & many others went in from here.

2nd Tuesday rather a fine cool day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & about sick President Lincolns boddy left Chicago for Springfield about 8 in evening Col Warren went down to Spring.

3rd Wednesday rather a cloudy cool day I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home at about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ lonely & sick Pelham killed my dog today.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/04/27/hiram-e-leonard-diary-april-27-may-3-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

