Hiram E. Leonard Diary, March 9 – 15, 1865

9th Thursday A pretty cold morning with water frozen in the ketching a cold day & night I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home 8 ½ bed 9 ½.

10th Friday rather a cold morning & day some sleighing I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at night about 8 ½ & went to bed 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick.

11th Saturday A cool day but more pleasant quite sleighing I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & about sick with a cold etc Mrs Lane mooved into red house.

12th Sunday rather a fine day but some cloudy & the snow thawed some I did my choars was at home the most of the day went to the office for R. Pollard about 11 choared round the house wrote some & red some went to office in evening & made up the mail & came home & went to bed about 9.

13th Monday rather rough weather snowed & rained some I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed 9 ½ nearly sick.

14th Tuesday A rainey tedious day the river a raising fast in the afternoon & night, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed about 9 tiard & nearly sick the Dam Brats Barn & the Bridge went off towards morning.

15th Wednesday A muddy damp rainey morning & some squalley during the day the mill dam, E. B. McKinneys Barn & the Bridge went off about 4 this morning the water backed up into my celler door, Ice was left at or in the celler way, the road was full of ice all round the bridge I did my choars was at the store all day & evening came home about 8 ½ went to bed about 9 nearly sick with cold the water swep away a great deal of fence ______ on the river for Warren & others, Pollard, Mrs Wood [in margin] mill dam McKiny barn & the bridge went off about 4 oclock in morning Jerry Pollard carried the mail.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2015/03/09/hiram-e-leonard-diary-march-9-15-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

