Hiram E. Leonard Diary, December 29, 1864 – January 4, 1865

29th Thursday fine cold weather, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.

30th Friday fine winter weather not very cold but did not thaw I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ went to bed about 9 ½ sick [A Fowler mooved to the boarding house – in margin].

31st Saturday A fine cool winter day rather poor sleighing I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 10 nearly sick.

1865 January 1st Sunday rather a fine winter day for New Years not verry cold but did not thaw, I did my choars was at the office the most of the day, went to the office for Roll Willson about 10, came home & choared round the most of the day, went to the office in evening came home & went to bed about 9 tiard & nearly sick The Williams came down about one & get E A Potter to go up to New Years to eat a turkey, She came back about 9 ½ from Willsons. [Mrs E A Potter went to Willsons to new years in afternoon – in margin].

2nd Monday rather fine weather for the first of January I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ went to bed 9 ½ nearly sick.

3rd Tuesday fine winter weather but no sleighing but does not thaw, I did my choars was at the office mostly all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick. [Elder Morstor went into the Fowler house – in margin].

Jan 4th Wednesday A fine winter day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick with cold. [George Sidney came here from Rockford stayed one night – in margin].”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/12/29/hiram-e-leonard-diary-december-29-1864-january-4-1865/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

