Hiram E. Leonard Diary, November 10 – 16, 1864

“10th Thursday A cloudy damp morning & day grew cold in the afternoon & the wind blew very hard & blew hard all night a tremendious hard wind I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.

“11th Friday A cold rane day & night I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick.

“12th Saturday rather a fine cool day I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick— [in margin] Elizabeth got a letter from George.

“13th Sunday A most beautiful day & evening the finest day we have had in many weeks, I did my choars was at the office in morning came back & fenced my stacks & choared round etc went to bed between 8 & 9 tiard & sick  Elizabeth & Charles went to both meeting.

“14th Monday rather fine cold weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & sick.

“15th Tuesday rather fine weather but cool for Nov I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.

“16th Wednesday rather cold cloudy raw weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely and lonely as death.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/11/10/hiram-e-leonard-diary-november-10-16-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

