Hiram E. Leonard Diary, November 3 – 9, 1864

“3rd Thursday rather fine weather but some cloudy. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.

“4th Friday rather a fine day & a cold night cloudy day & clear night, I did my choars was at the office all day 7 till 6 ½ in evening then went to Methodist church to hear Cody make a political speech went home about ½ past 9 & soon went to bed nearly sick.

“5th Saturday A fine pleasant beautiful day for Nov. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 & went to bed about 9 tiard & nearly sick [in margin] Mrs Stowels husband came home at night.

“6th Sunday rather a fine morning but a cloudy day with squalls of rain a most all day rather a hard day. I did my choars was at the house most of the day choaring round & fixing corn crib, went to office about noon came back wrote some in evening & went to bed about 9 tiard & lonely Charles went to Carolines to got to go to her father but did not go Tom Pelham was married to Mrs Ellin or Hellin York today by Elder Ofield at Downers Grove.

“7th Monday rather a cloudy damp day. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & sick & lonely [in margin] Caroline went to her fathers.

“8th Tuesday rather a cool cloudy damp & some misty day. I did my choars was at the office till about one oclock when I came up & went to election with Jerry Pollard came back between 3 & 4 went to the store came home eat supper & went back came home 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick it mist a little in evening & rained before morning, A Lincoln got 180 majority over McLellen, McLellen had 58 or 59 a pretty still election.

“9th Wednesday A rainey day & evening rained conciderable. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/11/03/hiram-e-leonard-diary-november-3-9-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

