Hiram E. Leonard Diary, October 13 – 19, 1864

“13th Thursday fine weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick & downhearted.

“14th Friday fine cloudy weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely [in margin] Carpenter got home from Massachusetts.

“16th Sunday rather a fine day but cloudy in afternoon & evening. I did my choars & went after my cows below Hunts new school house, my cows got out of Hoyts into Carpenters & Waddle turned them into the road. I hunted till near noon, I picked a few apples what I had, & choared round the house did my choars went to office in evening came home early & went to bed about 9 nearly sick had been all day slep but little last night [in margin] Mrs Stone stayed with Leb.

“17th Monday rather fine weather for the season, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick & lonesome.

“18th Tuesday rather fine weather for Oct I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick. Mrs. Potter & Charly had been at home all day she was more pleasant & I was more at home—than for the last 6 months [in margin] all was right for the first since April.

“19th Wednesday rather fine weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home at 8 ½ went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/10/13/hiram-e-leonard-diary-october-13-19-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

