Hiram E. Leonard Diary, August 11 – 17, 1864

“11th Thursday A fine day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & lonely & nearly sick & worn out with trouble. Wallace Joneses wife died today at about 6 p.m. She was confined a Monday & inflammation set in and she died.

“12th Friday rather fine but rather a heavey shower in the evening rained some in afternoon. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick German mowed the last pease of grass & it got wet.

“13th Saturday A cloudy morning but rather fine day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about ½ past 8 & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & sick as well as very lonely, Wallace Jones wife was buried, the funeral was at the Methodist house & the house was more than full many could not get in to the house, a tremendious large number were there [in margin] Hanna preached.

“14th Sunday Some cloudy in morning but a fine hot day & evening. I did my choars was at the house & a choaring round the most of the day called at the office toward night was at home in the evening & went to bed about 9, tiard and nearly sick as well as lonely & homesick [in margin] Caroline went home with her father.

“15th Monday rather fine weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed about 9 ½ tiard, lonely & nearly sick & discouraged.

“16th Tuesday fine warm dry weather, but some cool nights, I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening, came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick & heart sick.

“17th Wednesday fine weather for the season but a getting dry. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick lonely & down spirited.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/hiram-e-leonard-diary-august-11-17-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

