Hiram E. Leonard Diary, July 14 – 20, 1864

“14th Thursday fine dry weather ground suffering for rain. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely, homesick & sick.

“15th Friday A fine had ____ day but very dry, everything a drying up, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ went to bed 9 ½ tiard sick & lonely & homesick ______   ______ family came out.

“16th Saturday A very hot still muggy day & evening Showered a good deal during the night. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ or near 10, tiard lonely & about sick. There was a circus or caravan at Naperville.

“17th Sunday A warm showery morning some very heavey thunder & one very heavey shower rained till about 10 & brouk away some, I did my choars went to office a little after 10, came back & choared round. Elder Hanna preached Wm J Wrays funeral at 2 oclock P.M. at Methodist House, Carolines folks did not come over, it showered more or less all day.

“18th Monday A cloudy rainey morning with a tremendious heavey shower about 7 or between 7 & 8 in morning, my east celler half full of water in a few minutes or less than an hour. I did my choars went to office & got wet through we had an other shower in afternoon & filled my celler about as full. The river was very high it covered the island conciderable deep a tremendous rain, everything was flooded. I was at the store all day came home at 8 ½ went to bed 9 ½ lonely & sick.

“19th Tuesday A _____ cloudy morning the ground very wet more pleasant during day. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard lonely & nearly sick.

“20th Wednesday rather fine weather but very wet. I did my choars, was at the office all day & in the evening came home at 8 ½ went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick lonely & tiard.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/hiram-e-leonard-diary-july-14-20-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

