Hiram E. Leonard Diary, June 2 – 8, 1864

“2nd Thursday A fine day but cool I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 9 ½ & went to bed tiard & nearly sick & lonely as can be [in margin] Dr H S. Potter was killed by a bounding shell a strikeing him in the head.

“3rd Friday A fine day for June but cool. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard loanly & nearly sick [in margin] Bolway brought pigs.

“4th Saturday A fine pleasant warm day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ or started & met Malissa Billings saying that Mr Hoyt was a dyeing went up & he was ded died very sudden, Jonathan Pollard H D Fowler was there & Beardsley helped us lay him out the house was full we stayed till 11 ½ & locked him up & came home & went to bed he died between 8 & 9 evening.

“5th Sunday A fine day but some cloudy. I did my choars was at Mr Hoyts about 9, a while choared round some came home about noon went up to Caroline Wrays about 2 & stayed till about 4 or 5 George & Elizabeth went up in forenoon & Rollen brought us back I found my cow the other side of Lahmans & turned her into Lahmans yard with his bull came home did my choars went to the office & round home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 nearly sick lonesome & down spirited.

“6th Monday rather fine cold weather for June, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely. James Hoyt got here about one oclock at night & eat a bit & went to bed with Charles & me.

“7th Tuesday A fine but cool day for the season. I did my choars was at the office the most of the day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ sick & lonely. Mr. Hoyts funeral was today at the Methodist Church.

“8th Wednesday rather fine cool dry weather. I did my choars was at the office all day or nearly, went to Hoyts & red the Will of Hoyts to the Heirs was at office in evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard nearly sick lonesome & lonely.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/06/02/hiram-e-leonard-diary-june-2-8-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

