Hiram E. Leonard Diary, May 26 – June 1, 1864

“26th Thursday A fine pleasant dry day a little more cool. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick lonely & unhappy, old Mrs. Billings got a letter from stating that Wm J Wray was shot through the jugular vain in the neck & died almost instantly. Crel Monk was shot through the lung, died in about 24 hours [in margin] I sent Suns letters up to Cal Wray & Willson did not let her read it they were ________.

“27th Friday A fine pleasant day & getting very dry. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed 9 ½ about & lonely, Wm Griffeth told Caroline that Wm was dead, shot, She came down here about 6 a short time & went back feeling bad.

“28th Saturday a fine pleasant day & more warm. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 10 tiard sick & lonely. Caroline was down & went to Naperville with Rollen Willson, William McNelly & wife came to Cals & he came here a short time went ______.

“29th Sunday rather fine weather but very windy & some cloudy, I did my choars was at home almost all day choaring & planting garden called at Hoyts in evening came home & went to bed about 9 nearly sick & lonely. Rollen Willson carried Caroline & Hall up home to their fathers.

“30th Monday rather fine weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home 8 ½ and went to bed nearly sick & lonely about 9 ½.

“31st Tuesday fine pleasant weather but cool. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard lonely & sick.

“June 1st Wednesday A fine warm day & evening. I did my chaors was at the office al day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard sick & lonely.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/05/26/hiram-e-leonard-diary-may-26-june-1-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

