Hiram E. Leonard Diary, May 12 – 18, 1864

“12th Thursday rather fine weather for May but cool, I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed 9 ½ about sick & lonely—[in margin] George and wife went to Carolines.

“13th Friday fine cool weather but warm in the middle of the day. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ lonely & sick. Caroline went home with Hat to her fathers.

“14th Saturday a pretty fine day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick with a cold & lonesome. George & wife went to Pelhams & Chandlers, got home in evening.

“15th Sunday A fine pleasant day till afternoon when it was some cloudy & more cool. I did my choars was round the house all day after going to the office in morning. I choared round wrote some etc fixed the fence some round the paster & cleaned out the backhouse etc went to the office & made up the mail come home by Hoyts about 8 & went to bed about 9 nearly sick & lonesome & lonely as death [in margin] Wm J Wray shot at Resaca Georgia in the jugalor vain & died almost instantly in charging Rebel Fortification.

“16th Monday rather fine warm weather & a getting dry. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at about 8 ½ and went to bed about 9 ½, tiard, nearly sick, lonesome & unhappy.

“17th Tuesday A fine warm pleasant day & evening, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick lonesome & Lonely—.

“18th Wednesday pretty hot dry weather for May. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home by Hoyts about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick, discontented & dreary.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/05/12/hiram-e-leonard-diary-may-12-18-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

