Hiram E. Leonard Diary, April 28 – May 4, 1864

“28th Thursday backward disagreeable weather for April. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely.

“29th Friday rather a disagreeable day but some pleasant. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick & downhearted Col. Warren & Aurora Sherman went to McKee & back.

“30th Saturday A rainey morning & forenoon cleared off quite pleasant in afternoon & a fine evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home by Hoyts about 9 & went to bed about 10 nearly sick lonely homesick & downspirited.

“May 1st Sunday A fine pleasant still morning & pleasant day but more windy. I did my choars was at the house the most of the day went to the office & Hoyts after breckfust came back wrote some & went to Sherman Willsons to see about some pigs about 11 came back about two choared round went to the office in evening made up the mail called at Hoyts came home & went to bed about 9 lonely & nearly sick & downhearted, the women went to meeting, Elizabeth & Aurora.

“2nd Monday rather fine weather but cool for May. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick lonely.

“3rd Tuesday rather fine cool weather for May. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely etc. Aurora Sherman went to Kankakee City to her fathers to make a visit for the summer.

“4th Wednesday rather fine weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/04/28/hiram-e-leonard-diary-april-28-may-4-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

