Hiram E. Leonard Diary: April 21 – 27, 1864

“21st Thursday rather fine weather for the season but cool & wet & backward about spring work, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely.

“22nd Friday cloudy damp rainey weather & disagreeable. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick & lonely & lonesome as can be & friendless.

“23rd Saturday A damp rainey disagreeable day & evening I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 10 nearly sick, lonely & downspirited as death. Griffeth came & carried Aurora Sherman & children & George & wife up to his to visit & brought Aurora back at about dusk & George & wife walked back lonely times for me rained the most of the night.

“24th Sunday A cold northeast rain storm a tedious cold storm the most of the day I did my choars was round the house the most of the day a choaring put in 3 lights of glass in ketching & her bedroom called at Mr. Hoyts came home & went to bed about 9 nearly sick & lonesome & lonely as death & felt down harted.

“25th Monday rather bad disagreeable backward weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick with a cold was down harted.

“26th Tuesday rather disagreeable weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ lonesome & homesick & sick.

“27th Wednesday backward cold wet weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick & lonesome.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/04/21/hiram-e-leonard-diary-april-21-27-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

