Hiram E. Leonard Diary, March 31 – 6, 1864

“31st Thursday rather fine weather but some cloudy. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ lonesome & nearly sick.
“April 1st Friday rather a fine day but cool. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick & lonesome–long to be remembered by me.
“2nd Saturday rather fine weather & some a sewing ______ grain, I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 9 & soon went to bed sick a lonesome day & night to me, & long to be remembered. Geo Potter got home from Chicago at noon.

“3rd Sunday rather a fine forenoon but some cloudy more cloudy & cool in the afternoon & evening. I did my choars choared round & whealed away some of the banking to my house till between 10 & 11 then went to the office for Emmerson, come back by Hoyts whealed more away till noon came in write some etc till one eat a bight & then whealed some hay oughts in to the orchard etc did my choars eat supper went to the office & made up the maile came home by Hoyts about 8 washed me & went to bed about 9, nearly sick, homesick & lonesome & down spirited [in margin] I Kenyon taken sick tonight.

“4th Monday A cool damp disagreeable day for April & backward, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ lonesome & __________ [in margin] George went to Chicago.

“5th Tuesday cold damp disagreeable backward weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & lonesome & nearly sick of home.

“6th Wednesday wet backward weather for April. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard, lonesome & nearly sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/hiram-e-leonard-diary-march-31-6-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

