Hiram E. Leonard Diary, March 10 – 16, 1864

10th Thursday  A cloudy damp muddy day, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about ____ & went to bed nearly sick. Mrs Potter went to Williamses & stayed all night & helped Williams people in their afflication.

11th Friday rather a cloudy damp misty forenoon more pleasant in afternoon I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home between 8 & 9 & went to bed about 9 ½ sick nearly & had the blues, Mrs Potter got home about 2 oclock from Williamses & found George O Potter here he came in the stage at noon was sick & a most blinded with sore eyes, Samuel Williams was buried in the burying ground this afternoon, Elder Hanna preached the funeral sermon.

12th Saturday A cloudy damp muddy day snowed some during the day & snowed the ground white during the evening & froze, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.

13th Sunday A cool & some cloudy morning but rather a pleasant day & thawed, I did my choars was round home a chaoring the most of the day, went to the office near night & came home by Hoyts & went to bed before 9 nearly sick, Beardsley & wife and several others were here to see George & wife, Colered Mary was here.

14th Monday  rather fine cold weather for March & rough. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.

15th Tuesday rather fine cold rough weather, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ lonely & sick.

16th Wednesday fine cold rough weather. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed 9 ½ lonesome.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/hiram-e-leonard-diary-march-10-16-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

