Hiram E. Leonard Diary, February 17 – 23, 1864

17th Wednesday rather fine weather for winter but a cold air. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick. The Steamboat Orient struck a snag near Dogtooth Bend about 20 miles above Cairo, downward bound & sunk in 20 minutes. J.R. Grant was reported drowned.

18th Thursday  A fine day & not quite as cold. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.

19th Friday  A fine pleasant day & evening & more mild I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home by Hoyts about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ about sick.

20th Saturday  A fine pleasant day & evening for winter. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening & came home about 12 or 11 & went to bed tiard & nearly sick, from Col Warren & others & myself stayed at store & had a chat.

21st Sunday  I got up about 7 did my choars eat breckfust, went to the office about 10, came back by Hoyts, got home before 11, wrote some choared round & went to bed before 9 sick. Mrs. Potter & Charles went to Meeting at Baptist, & Mrs Potter came home sick & soon went to bed with the sick headache.

22nd Monday rather a fine day for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick. Elizabeth was sick.

23rd Tuesday  rather fine weather for Feb. the roads are getting pretty good. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/hiram-e-leonard-diary-february-17-23-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

