Hiram E. Leonard Diary, February 10 – 16, 1864

10th Wednesday  rather fine weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home by Hoyts 8 ½ & went to bed 9 ½ sick with a  cold. Frank Wellman started from Michigan to come here.

11th Thursday  rather a fine day for Feb. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick, Griffeth got home with Sams Corpse at about noon.

12th Friday A fine pleasant sunshiney day looks more like April than Feb. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick. Sam Griffeth was buried this afternoon, Elder Bicknell came from Michigan & left Frank Wellman at Winfield over night.

13th Saturday  A fine pleasant sunshiney day, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 by Hoyts & went to bed about 9 nearly sick. Caroline was down & Mrs Potter & Charles went home with her about dusk walked. Frank Wellman came today noon, took dinner at Noonens & eat supper at my house & came about 12 & stayed at my house called before supper at Brookses, he & Julia went & foddered the horses at the barn & he done Julias choars: Brooks was sick.

14th Sunday  A fine pleasant day more like April than Feb. I did my choars was round home all day choaring & making vinager went to office towards night, went to bed about 9 nearly sick. Frank went to Winfield with Tom Watson. Mrs Potter got home dark.

15th Monday  A fine day for winter but pretty cold, about 20 degrees below zero in morning. I did my choars was at the office all day & in evening came home & went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick.

16th Tuesday  A fine cold day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick with a cold.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/hiram-e-leonard-diary-february-10-16-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

