Hiram E. Leonard Diary, February 3 – 9, 1864

3rd Wednesday  rather fine winter weather but some cloudy & muddy. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ about sick with a cold.

4th Thursday  rather fine weather for winter but warm & muddy I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening, came home about 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick. Samuel Griffeth died at Camp Butler this morning.

5th Friday  rather fine weather for winter but muddy. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ and went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick with a  cold—-.

6th Saturday  rather a fine day for the season but warm & muddy. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick, R Griffeth got a telegraphic dispatch from Springfield that Sam Griffeth was ded he died at Camp Butler on the 4th of Feb.

7th Sunday A fine warm day for Feb. but some cloudy & muddy, more pleasant towards night, I did my choars cleaned out the hovels called at Mr Hoyts a few minutes in forenoon was round home the most of the day & evening went to the office towards night came back wrote some & went to bed about 9.

8th Monday  A fine pleasant day for winter & a getting to be pretty good going. I did my choars was at the office all day came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick with a cold [in margin] John Grant left for Memphis.

9th Tuesday  rather fine weather for winter, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick with a cold. Wm Griffeth started for Springfield to Camp Butler to get Sam Griffeths boddy who died last Thursday.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/hiram-e-leonard-diary-february-3-9-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

