Hiram E. Leonard Diary, January 6 – 12, 1864

6th Wednesday  A cold winter day snow drifted pretty but they are agetting the roads broaken out. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went & went to bed at 9 ½.

7th Thursday  A cold winter day, the thermometer has stood at from 20 to 25 degrees below zero for near a week every morning, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.

8th Friday  A little more pleasant but about as cold as ever, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ went to bed about 9 ½.

9th Saturday  a little more pleasant but winterlike & cold, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½. I bought a mair of J Bollwy for 86 dollars.

10th Sunday  rather a pleasant day but cold, weather snug winter, I did my choars was at home all day except going to store twice & Hoyts, I choared round the cellar & fixed my stable a little wrote some & went to bed between 8 & 9 tiard & nearly sick.

11th Monday  rather fine weather for winter & pretty steddy. I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick, cold.

12th Tuesday  Steddy fine winter weather, thawed but little in the sun, I did my choars was at the office all day & came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick with a cold.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/hiram-e-leonard-diary-january-6-12-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

