Hiram E. Leonard Diary, December 30, 1863 – January 5, 1864

30th Wednesday A fine pleasant winter day, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.

31st Thursday A cold driving snow stormey morning & day & tedious day & night & verry cold. I did my choars was at the office all day, but did not go down in the evening on account of the cold windy snow storm.

January 1st Friday  A cold windy morning & snow a flying the most tedious day we have had for years the thermometer stood at from 23 to 25 degrees below zero in morning. I did my choars was at the office all day but not in evening went to bed about 9 nearly sick with a  cold.

2nd Saturday  a pretty cold day but not as cold as yesterday but the same in morning. I did my choars was at the office all day but not in evening. Went to bed at 9. The cars have been blocked up since Thursday night.

3rd Sunday A cold day but not as cold as yesterday. I did my choars was round the house the most of the day choaring round fixing hen house & stable went to office about noon with I Kenyon & called at Mr Hoyts was at home all the evening choaring & writing & went to bed 8 & 9.

4th Monday  A pretty cold day & evening, about 23 degrees below zero. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ sick.

5th Tuesday  A cold winter day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2013/12/30/hiram-e-leonard-diary-december-30-1863-january-5-1864/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

