Hiram E. Leonard Diary, October 28 – November 3, 1863

28th Wednesday  a fine pleasant day but cool cloudy evening & rained before morning, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick, John Duck & M D Williams came from Elgin got here about dusk after Ws goods.

29th Thursday  A cloudy damp morning & began to rain about 8, wet conciderable in forenoon & hard in afternoon & evening & snowed some before morning. I did my choars was at the office till after 9 then went to Germy to get an attachment for M D Williams goods, Germn made the papers out & came down about one & did not like to give them to the constable, So I started for Naperville a little after one with R. Pollard & got my papers & got back before 4, Williams started for Elgin & we went to Fowlers & attached M D W. goods came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 nearly sick.

30th Friday  rather a cloudy disagreeable day & spit snow a little & snowed during the night conciderable. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick. M D Williams got back at noon, & was a going to law me & make me smart, he shook his fist in my face & called me a liar & said it should be to my injury he sent P Graves over to talk with me in the evening & he agreed to settle it in the morning which he did.

31st Saturday  the ground was covered with snow, but conciderable of it went off before night. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 nearly sick, P Graves settled Williams notes paid $50, gave a notice of 34.80 & they went home.

November 1st Sunday  rather a cold morning but a fine pleasant day & evening quite warm in the middle of the day, I did my choars & choared round the house till near noon then went to store & got some curtains came back & choared round till ½ past one then started for my timber to show Dutchman where to chop got back about 4 did my choars was at home all evening wrote some & went to bed a little after 8 nearly sick with a cold. B S Harlow Esqr died today after being sick a few weeks.

2nd Monday  rather a cool cloudy damp day & rained some. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed a little after 9 nearly sick with a  cold.

3rd Tuesday  A cool but rather pleasant day. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home 8 ½ went to bed at 9 ½ nearly sick. B. S Harlow Esqr was burried today in afternoon & election was at Garys Mill today, Grifffeth drew a load apples.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/hiram-e-leonard-diary-october-28-november-3-1863/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

