Hiram E. Leonard Diary, August 5 – 11, 1863

5th Wednesday  A fine day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½.

6th Thursday  A fine day some cloudy evening & a shower. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½. Hat came & Caroline went home with him. Amanda Straus came stayed all night.

7th Friday  A cloudy damp morning & day, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home between 8 & 9 & soon went to bed, Frank Wellman & his father arrived from Michigan they were here at dinner & supper & stayed all night. Frank did not come in till near 12.

8th Saturday  A cloudy damp morning & hot day more pleasant. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & soon went to bed, Frank & his father went to Aurora & back did not find what they went after got back at dusk disappointed, A heavey thunder shower all night almost & lightning.

9th Sunday  A cloudy damp muggy morning more pleasant in afternoon but cloudy. I did my choars was at home most of the day, went to store about 9 with Frank came back fixed some fence wrote some choared round some etc called at Hoyts at night & went to bed about 9, Frank & Father stayed here, Frank & J M Warren went to Winfield about noon & got home about 8 ½, a heavey shower near night.

10th Monday  rather a cloudy morning but more pleasant during the day I did my choars was at the office all day & in evening came home about 8 ½ & soon went to bed tiard & nearly sick. Frank & his father left here this morning for Chicago & was a going home to York State.

11th Tuesday  rather fine weather but some cloudy, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/hiram-e-leonard-diary-august-5-11-1863/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

