Hiram E. Leonard Diary, July 22 – 28, 1863

22nd Wednesday  rather fine weather for the season, with a fine shower in the evening, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½. Dr. Warren Wellman died in Michigan on his farm, Saturday July 25th 1863 was wed in the morning, then taken suddenly with the bilious cholic, severely till 9, then had a doctor till 11 oclock when they thought he was out of danger, he expired at 12:30 afternoon suddenly said to be a tuch of apoplox [in margin].

23rd Thursday  fine weather but some damp. I did my choars was at the office all day & in evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ tiard & sick.

24th Friday  rather fine warm weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.

25th Saturday  rather a fine weather for the season. I did my choars was at the office all day & in evening came home about 9 & soon went to bed nearly sick with a  cold. Sam McFerran died today.

26th Sunday  A fine day & evening cool towards night I did my choars was round home all day except going to the office at 2, picked some currents did my choars was at the _____ & went to bed about 9 nearly sick. Isreal Kenyon & wife came here about 10 & went away at 5. Sam McFerren was buryed today funeral at Baptist meeting house Frank was here.

27th Monday  rather a fine day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed at 9 ½ tiard & nearly sick.

28th Tuesday  rather a fine day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home at 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick, I got I got a line from F Wellman that he had just got a dispatch from his Father that Warren Wellman was ded & he was to start tonight for Michigan.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2013/07/22/hiram-e-leonard-diary-july-22-28-1863/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

