Hiram E. Leonard Diary, April 1 – 7, 1863

April 1st Wednesday  rather a fine day but some windy. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ and went to bed before 10 [in margin] Union meeting.

2nd Thursday  rather a raw windy day. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ [in margin] K Vallett got home.

3rd Friday  rather a fine day & evening. I did my choars was at the office all day came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick, Dr. Wellman went to Aurora & back, H. B. Fowler went to Naperville & made out the writing to sell his farm.

4th Saturday  A most beautiful summer like day. I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 9 by Hoyts & went to bed about 10 nearly sick. David & Hot came out & stayed all night, they went out & did not get home till about 11.

5th Sunday  A beautiful morning & day but some cloudy in afternoon, I did my choars went to office 3 times in forenoon, went last time at 11 & stayed till 5 making quarterly returns & looking over with Col Warren came home about 5 wrote some & went to office ½ past 5 came back did my choars went to office again, came home & went to bed about 9, Caroline went home with David & Hot about 10, Elizabeth went up to Levensus with I Kenyon & wife about 9 to see her boy, they went to McFerrens & got back at about 5 [in margin] Caroline went home to stay awhile.

6th Monday  rather a fine day & evening, I did my choars was at the office all day & in the evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ –nearly sick Dr. Wellman started for Michigan.

7th Tuesday  rather fine weather for April but cool.  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick, rested pretty well—.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2013/04/01/hiram-e-leonard-diary-april-1-7-1863/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

