Hiram E. Leonard Diary, January 21 – 27, 1863

21st Wednesday  rather a fine warm day but some cloudy & muddy.  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home by Hoyts about 8 got home before 9 & soon went to bed sick Caroline & Eliza went home started in the stage about 9 & went on cars to Babcocks Grove, Ed Brown killed hogs today.

22nd Thursday  rather a cloudy muddy disagreeable day & rained at night I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 by Hoyts, got home at 9 & went to bed before 10 nearly sick.  Dr Wellman & Col Warren went to Chicago started about 12 from store Henry Pollard got to Chicago.

23rd Friday  A damp muddy disagreeable day & night.  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 by Hoyts got home at 9 & soon went to bed sick.  Dr Wellman got home from Chicago.

24th Saturday  a damp cloudy morning but cleared off & was a pleasant night & froze some.  I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home by Hoyts about ½ past 8 & soon went to bed about sick.  Henry Pollard or Wyman got home about 8 oclock tonight from Bowling Green Hospital for the Army.

25th Sunday  A fine pleasant day some hasey towards night was froze to the morning but thawed out before noon & was all muddy, I did my choars was round home all day called at Hoyts in evening came home at 8 & went to bed at 9 nearly sick.

26th Monday  rather fine weather for the season, I did my choars was at the office all day & evening came home about 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed about 10 nearly sick with a cold.

27th Tuesday  rather fine weather for January but bad going  I did my choars was at the office all day & in evening came home about 8 ½ by Hoyts & went to bed about 9 ½ nearly sick.  Caroline came home today about her Father came with her & went to James Browns.  She was about sick & cross.”

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://warrenvillehistorical.wordpress.com/2013/01/21/hiram-e-leonard-diary-january-21-27-1863/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

